delicious; melts in your mouth

There are many ramen restaurants in Vancouver, but my favourite spot is Hokkaido Ramen Santouka, further down on Robson in Downtown. It is always busy in the restaurant with wait times that can go up to 30 mins or more if you have parties of more than 3 people. During my latest visit, I went with my sister only so we were seated pretty quickly. They have a few small tables, a bar, and a large communal table, and this time we were seated at the bar.

Since we’ve been here multiple times, we were all ready to order as soon as we were seated. The service here is rather quick as well. I got my usual order, the Toroniku Miso Ramen. The broth is quite rich with the perfect consistency, and not too salty too . The main attraction of this dish is the Toroniku, which is simmered pork cheek meat. It is very tender, not overly fatty, and just melts right in your mouth! I come here just for this dish! It says on the menu that there are limited quantities available each day, but I have yet to encounter a visit where it is sold out for the day, but let’s hope that never happens.

photo 3

photo 2 (1)

My sister is a huge fan of spicy foods, so of course she ordered the Kara Miso Ramen. On their menu, it says it is consisted of pork broth seasoned with hot spices and miso. This ramen also comes with the regular cha-shu. The cha-shu they serve here has just the right amount meat proportional to the fat. It is very yummy, but I would still choose the Toroniku over the cha-shu any day!

photo 1 (1)

If you’re craving some raman, I strongly suggest you give Santouka a try and definitely order a ramen with Toroniku!

Hokkaido Ramen Santouka 山頭火 on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

